Directory

Search

Charles (Andy) Anderson
MSU Department:  Teacher Education,
Professor
Ph.D, University of Texas, Austin, 1979
Research centers on the classroom teaching and learning of science. He studies how students' prior knowledge, language, and social relationships affect their engagement in science learning and the development of scientific literacy.
Email:  andya@msu.edu

Gregory Bonito
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Duke University, 2009.
Fungal ecology, fungal-plant interactions, evolution of bacterial endosymbiosis.
Email:  bonito@msu.edu

Martin Chilvers
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Tasmania, Australia, 2003
Fungal and oomycete biology, epidemiology, genetics, host-pathogen interactions; diseases of field crops; molecular diagnostics
Email:  chilvers@msu.edu

Henry Chung (H. W.)
MSU Department: Entomology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Melbourne, Australia, 2008
Investigating the molecular mechanisms underlying 1) evolution of insecticide resistance and 2) divergence of insect pheromone systems.
Email: hwchung@msu.edu

Anthony Cognato
MSU Department: Entomology, Professor

Ph.D. University of California, Berkeley, 1998
Insect Systematics and Director of the A.J. Cook Arthropod Research Collection
Email:  cognato@msu.edu

Kyla Dahlin
MSU Department: Geography Environmental Spatial Sciences, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University, 2012
Quantitative landscape ecology, remote sensing, Earth system modeling, global change
Email:  kdahlin@msu.edu

Yann DuFour
MSU Department: Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2010
Social behavior of bacteria
Email:  dufourya@msu.edu

Patrick Edger
MSU Department: Horticulture, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Missouri, 2012.
Phylogenomics, Comparative Functional Genomics, Systems Biology
Email:  edgerpat@msu.edu

Erik Goodman
MSU Department: Computer Science and Engineering, Professor
Director of BEACON
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1972.
Genetic algorithms and evolutionary computation.
Email:  goodman@msu.edu

Michael D. Gottfried
MSU Department: Earth and Environment Sciences, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Kansas, 1991.
Vertebrate paleontology.
Email:  gottfrie@msu.edu

Matthew Grieshop
MSU Department: Entomology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Kansas State University, 2005.
Community and population ecology, animal behavior.
Email:  grieshop@msu.edu

Katherine L. Gross
MSU Department: Plant Biology, University Distinguished
Professor of Plant Biology
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1980.
Plant population and community ecology.
Email:  kgross@kbs.msu.edu

Zachary Huang
MSU Department: Entomology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Guelph, Ontario, 1988.
Behavioral physiology, insect sociobiology.
Email:  bees@msu.edu

Kevin Liu
MSU Department: Computer Science and Engineering, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 2011
The Liu Lab creates new computational methodologies for efficient and accurate comparative genomic analyses, especially in the context of complex evolutionary scenarios.
Email:  kjl@msu.edu

David W. MacFarlane
MSU Department: Forestry, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Rutgers University, 2001
Forest measurements and modeling
E-mail: macfar24@msu.edu

Terence L. Marsh
MSU Department: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, Amherst, 1981
Microbial community analysis
Email:  marsht@msu.edu

Deborah G. McCullough
MSU Department: Entomology, Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1990.
Forest entomology, insect ecology.
Email:  mccullo6@msu.edu

Haddish Melakeberhan
MSU Department: Horticulture, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Simon Fraser University, British Columbia, 1986
My research focus has been on understanding plant-nematode-soil-nutrient interactions at the organism and ecosystem levels
Email:  melakebe@msu.edu

Joseph Messina
MSU Department: Geography, Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina University, Chapel Hill, 2001
Spatial models, environment, applied climate change
Email:  jpm@msu.edu

Jessica R. Miesel
MSU Department: Forestry, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Ohio State University, 2009
Fire ecology, forest ecology and management; restoration ecology; biogeochemistry; intersections between ecology and environmental justice
Email:  mieselje@msu.edu

Robert Montgomery
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2012
Ecology of carnivores and their prey, spatial ecology, landscape ecology and international wildlife conservation
Email:  montg164@msu.edu

Cheryl A. Murphy
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Louisiana State University, 2006
Environmental toxicology
Email:  camurphy@msu.edu

Antonio A. Nunez
MSU Department: Psychology, Professor
Associate Dean of the Graduate School
Ph.D., Florida State University, 1977
Biological rhythms, hormone and reproductive behaviors
Email:  nunez@msu.edu

F. William Ravlin
MSU Department: Entomology, Professor & Chairperson
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1980
Current research focuses on insect population dynamics, biological control, and integrated pest management. He also has expertise in insect macrophotography.
Email:  ravlin@msu.edu

G. Philip Robertson
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, University
Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University, 1980
Ecosystem and agricultural ecology
Email:  robert30@msu.edu

John D. Robinson
MSU Department: FIsheries and WIldlife, Assistant Professor
Ph.D. University of Georgia, 2011
Research Interests:  Population and conservation genetics, demographic inference
Organisms:  Freshwater and marine invertebrates, fish, plants 
E-mail:  jdrob@msu.edu

David E. Rothstein
MSU Department: Forestry, Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan 1999
Ecosystem ecology
Email:  rothste2@msu.edu

Monique Sakalidis
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Murdoch University, Perth, Australia, 2011
Research focuses on the use of genomic tools in conjunction with traditional pathology tools to mitigate and respond to forest tree diseases (detection, identification, pathogenicity and population analysis), emerging endemic and exotic invasive pathogens.
E-mail: sakalidi@msu.edu

Orlando Sarnelle
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1992
Biological limnology, ecology
Email:  sarnelle@msu.edu

James J. Smith
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Biology, Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1985
Molecular systematics and evolution
Email:  jimsmith@msu.edu

Scott C. Stark
MSU Department:  Department of Forestry
Ph.D., University of Arizona, 2012
My research combines data from traditional forest plots, canopy sensor networks, ecophysiological information, and remote sensing—primarily LiDAR—to study the combined effects of demographic structure, phylloenvironments, and phenotypic diversity on forest dynamics and functions, including biosphere–atmosphere interactions and ecoclimate teleconnections under climate change. The Amazon forest is a special area of focus.
Email: scstark@msu.edu

Zsofia Szendrei
MSU Department: Entomology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2005
Insect ecology, chemical ecology, biocontrol
Email:  szendrei@msu.edu

William W. Taylor
MSU Department:  Department of Fisheries and WIldlife

University Distinguished Professor in Global Fisheries Systems
Ph.D., Arizona State, 1978.
Fish population and community dynamics
Email:  taylorw@msu.edu

James M. Tiedje
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences
University Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University, 1968
Microbial ecology
Email:  tiedjej@msu.edu

Sean A. Valles
MSU Departments: Lyman Briggs/Philosophy, Asssociate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University, 2010
Philosophy of biology and medicine
Email:  valles@msu.edu

Michael  C. Wagner
MSU Department: Fisheries and WIldlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 2004
Behavioral and community ecology of fishes
Email:  mwagner@msu.edu

Peter White
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Entomology

Assistant Professor; Ph.D., McGill University, Montreal, 2011
Lepidoptera biology, landscape ecology, and evolution education in K-12 ad higher ed.
E-mail: pwhite@msu.edu