Core Faculty

Adami, Christoph C.

Christoph C. Adami
MSU Department:  Microbiology & Molecular Genetics, Professor

Ph.D., State University of New York, Stony Brook, 1991
Evolution of Behavior and Intelligence
Email:  adami@msu.edu

Benbow, Eric

Eric Benbow
MSU Department: Entomology, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Dayton, 1999
Ecological theory to explore interactions between entire microbial communities and individual insects, populations or entire communities of insects.
Email:  eric.benbow@gmail.com

Bence, James R.

James R. Bence
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1985.
Quantitative fishery ecology.
Email:  bence@msu.edu

Boughman, Janette

Janette Boughman
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 1997.
Behavioral and evolutionary ecology; mechanisms of speciation.
Email:  boughman@msu.edu

Braasch, Ingo

Ingo Braasch
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of Würzburg, Germany, 2009.
Evolutionary developmental genomics of fishes and other vertebrates.
Email:  braasch@msu.edu

Brudvig, Lars

Lars Brudvig, Associate Professor
MSU Department: Plant Biology
Ph.D., Iowa State University, 2007
Restoration, landscape, and plant ecology
Email: brudvig@plantbiology.msu.edu

Cheruvelil, Kendra S.

Kendra S. Cheruvelil
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Biology, Professor

Ph.D., Michigan State University, 2004.
Aquatic ecology, landscape limmology, exotic species, applied ecology, macrophytes.
Email:  ksc@msu.edu

Conner, Jeffrey K.

Jeffrey K. Conner
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University, 1987.
Evolutionary ecology, ecological genetics
Email:  connorj@msu.edu

Ebert-May, Diane

Diane Ebert-May
MSU Department: Plant Biology, University
Distinguished Professor of Plant Biology

Ph.D., University of Colorado
Science education; plant ecology
Email: ebertmay@msu.edu

Eisthen, Heather L.

Heather L. Eisthen
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Indiana University, 1992.
Neuroethology; evolutionary and developmental neurobiology.
E-mail:  eisthen@msu.edu

Evans, Sarah E.

Sarah E. Evans
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2012.
Microbial community ecology, ecosystems, global change.
Email: evanssa6@msu.edu

Getty, Thomas

Thomas Getty
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor and Chair 

Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1980.
Behavioral ecology of vertebrates.
Email:  getty@kbs.msu.edu

Hamilton, Stephen K.

Stephen K. Hamilton
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Santa Barbara, 1994.
Biogeochemistry and aquatic ecology.
Email:  hamilton@kbs.msu.edu

Hayes, Daniel

Daniel Hayes
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1990.
Fish community and population interactions.
Email:  hayesdan@msu.edu

Holekamp, Kay E.

Kay E. Holekamp
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, University Distinguished
Professor and Director of EEBB
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1983.
Behavioral ecology; ethology and behavioral endocrinology.
Email:  holekamp@msu.edu

Isaacs, Rufus

Rufus Isaacs
MSU Department: Entomology
Professor; Ph.D., Imperial College (London), 1994.
Pest and beneficial insect ecology, wild bees, pollination
Email:  isaacsr@msu.edu

Jarosz, Andrew M.

Andrew M. Jarosz
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Purdue University, 1984
Evolutionary ecology of plant-pathogen interactions
Email:  amjarosz@msu.edu

Klausmeier, Christopher

Christopher Klausmeier
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2000
Theoretical and aquatic ecology
Email:  klausme1@msu.edu

Kobe, Richard K.

Richard K. Kobe
MSU Department: Forestry, Professor and Chair
Ph.D., University of Connecticut, Storrs, 1995
Forest ecology
Email:  kobe@msu.edu

Landis, Douglas A.

Douglas A. Landis
MSU Department: Entomology, University Distinguished
Professor of Entomology

Professor; Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 1987
Landscape ecology and biological control
Email:  landisd@msu.edu

Lenski, Richard E.

Richard E. Lenski
MSU Department: Plant, Soil and Microbial Sciences
Hannah Distinguished Professor of Microbial Ecology

Ph.D., North Carolina State University, 1983.
Experimental evolution with microbes and digital organisms.
Email:  lenski@msu.edu

Li, Weiming

Weiming Li
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1994
Fish chemoreception and chemical ecology
Email:  liweim@msu.edu

Lindell, Catherine

Catherine Lindell
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Harvard University, 1994
Behavioral and landscape ecology
Email:  lindellc@msu.edu

Litchman, Elena

Elena Litchman
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, MSU Foundation Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 1997
Ecology and evolution of phytoplankton & other microbes, community ecology, aquatic ecology
Email:  litchman@msu.edu

Liu, Jianguo (Jack)

Jianguo (Jack) Liu
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, University Distinguished Professor
Director of Center for Systems Integration and Sustainability
Rachel Carson Chair in Ecological Sustainability

Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1992
Coupled human and natural systems, telecoupling, sustainability, conservation, environment
Email:  liuji@msu.edu

Lowry, David

David Lowry
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Duke University, 2010
Plant Evolutionary Genomics, Adaptation, and Speciation
Email: dlowry@msu.edu

Lundrigan, Barbara L.

Barbara L. Lundrigan
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1988.
Phylogenetics; evolution of behavior and morphology.
Email:  lundriga@msu.edu

Malmström, Carolyn M.

Carolyn M. Malmström
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Stanford University, 1997
Ecosystem & landscape dynamics, restoration ecology, remote sensing
Email: carolynm@msu.edu

Ofria, Charles A.

Charles A. Ofria
MSU Department: Computer Science and Engineering, Professor
Ph.D., California Institute of Technology, 1999
Email:  ofria@msu.edu

Pennock, Robert T.

Robert T. Pennock
MSU Department: Lyman Briggs/Philosophy, University
Distinguished Professor 

Ph.D., University of Pittsburgh. 1991
Philosophy of biology; evolutionary computation; history & philosophy of science; science & values
Email:  pennock5@msu.edu

Prather, L. Alan

L. Alan Prather
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor
Director of MSU Herbarium

Ph.D., University of Texas, Austin, 1995
Plant systematics and evolution of floral morphology
Email:  alan@msu.edu

Roloff,, Gary J.

Gary J. Roloff
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., Michigan State University, 1994
Ecological community responses to disturbances; landscape-level modeling, planning, and assessments
Email:  roloff@msu.edu

Scribner, Kim L.

Kim L. Scribner
MSU Department: Fisheries and WIldlife, Professor
Ph.D., University of Georgia, 1992
Population genetics, population ecology and conservation biology
Email:  scribne3@msu.edu

Shade, Ashley

Ashley Shade
MSU Department: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Assistant Professor
Professor; Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2010
Ecology and evolution of microbial communities
Email:  shadeash@msu.edu

Shiu, Shin-Han

Shin-Han Shiu
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Associate Professor

Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 2001
Evolution of Genomes
Email:  shius@msu.edu

Smale, Laura

Laura Smale
MSU Department: Psychology, Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Berkeley, 1987
Animal behavior and its physiological substrates
Email;  smale@msu.edu

Soranno, Patricia

Patricia Soranno
MSU Department: Fisheries and WIldlife, Professor
Ph.D., University of Wisconsin, Madison, 1995
Limnology and ecosystem ecology
Email:  soranno@msu.edu

Stevenson, R. Jan

R. Jan Stevenson
MSU Department: Integrative Biology
Professor; Ph.D., University of Michigan, 1981
Algal ecology; aquatic ecology; environmental science
Email:  rjstev@msu.edu

Telewski, Frank W.

Frank W. Telewski
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Professor
Ph.D., Wake Forest University, 1983
Developmental tree ecophysiology
Email:  telewski@msu.edu

Tsao, Jean I.

Jean I. Tsao
MSU Department: Fisheries and Wildlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Chicago, 2001
Ecology and evolution of disease organisms
Email:  tsao@msu.edu

Walker, Edward D.

Edward D. (Ned) Walker
MSU Department: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Professor
Ph.D., University of Massachusetts, 1984
Medical entomology
Email:  walker@msu.edu

Waters, Christopher M.

Christopher M. Waters
MSU Department: Microbiology and Molecular Genetics, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2002
Evolution of cooperative behavior in bacteria
Email:  watersc3@msu.edu

Zarnetski, Phoebe

Phoebe Zarnetske
MSU Department: Forestry, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Oregon State University, 2011
Community ecology, spatial ecology, climate change, species distribution modeling, ecosystem services, invasive species
Email:  plz@msu.edu

Zipkin, Elise

Elise Zipkin
MSU Department: Integrative BIology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Maryland, 2012
Mathematical and statistical modeling; population and community ecology; biodiversity monitoring
Email:  ezipkin@msu.edu

Dyer, Fred C.

Fred C. Dyer
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor,
Director of Graduate Studies

Ph.D., Princeton University, 1984
Ethology and behavioral ecology
Email:  fcdyer@msu.edu

Gallant, Jason

Jason Gallant
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Cornell University, 2011
Neuroethology, genomics, animal communication
Email:  jgallant@msu.edu

Owen, Jen

Jen Owen
MSU Department: Fisheries and WIldlife, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Southern Mississippi, 2004
Ecology of infectious diseases, behavioral ecology, ecoimmunology
Email:  owenj@msu.edu

Ostrom, Nathaniel

Nathaniel Ostrom
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Professor

Ph.D., Memorial University of Newfoundland, 1992
Biogeochemistry
Email:  ostromn@msu.edu

Ostrom, Peggy H.

Peggy H. Ostrom
MSU Department: Integrative Biology. Professor

Ph.D., Memorial University of Newfoundland, 1990
Biogeochemical cycling
ostrom@msu.edu

Finley, Andrew O.

Andrew O. Finley
MSU Department: Forestry, Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota, 2006.
Methodology for monitoring and modeling environmental processes; Bayesian statistics; spatial statistics; and statistical computing.
Email:  finleya@msu.edu

Meek, Mariah

Mariah Meek
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2010
Meek Lab aims to understand the interactions among molecular ecology, population health and persistence, anthropogenic change, and trait variation with an emphasis on aquatic systems.
Email:  mhmeek@msu.edu

Bradburd, Gideon

Gideon Bradburd
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2015
Research is on evolutionary biology focusing on causes and consequences of genetic variation; population genetics.
Email:  bradburd@msu.edu

Weber, Marjorie

Marjorie Weber
MSU Department: Plant Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Cornell University, 2014
The ecology and macroevolution of plant-arthropod interactions.
Email:  weberm11@msu.edu

Wetzel, WIlliam

William Wetzel
MSU Department: Entomology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 2015
Population and community ecology, plant-insect interactions, quantitative ecology.
Email:  wcwetzel@msu.edu

Fitzpatrick, Sarah

Sarah Fitzpatrick
MSU Department: Integrative Biology, Assistant Professor

Ph.D., Colorado State University, 2015
Research in my lab combines genomic tools, mark-recapture methods, and experiments to study how interactions between gene flow, drift, and selection affect population dynamics and diversity patterns.
Email: sfitz@msu.edu